The Staff of Life

6 09 2013

My husband is a bread snob.
Being European, he claims he has a right to be. No joke.
Why am I telling you this?
I’ve taken to bartering with friends and colleagues, offering our fresh eggs. One of my colleagues is known for her sublime loaves of fresh bread, so I proposed a barter. I brought the still-warm-from-the-oven bread home. I sliced into thisΒ  perfectly round, nearly heme-spherical loaf. My husband was skeptical. He took a bite. And another. Then a declaration:
This might be the best bread I’ve had in America.

We had more bread for breakfast. Then an amendment to his declaration followed by a question:
This IS the best bread I’ve had in America. Can she teach you?

And so I was set on the path to learn to make bread. My colleague praised the book My Bread by Jim Lahey, so I picked up a copy. It’s filled with wonderful recipes, helpful photos, and heartwarming stories. It gave me a place to start, and maybe even a little confidence.

Here’s how it went:

bread dough 9.5.13 bread dough at 14 hours bread dough at 18 hours folded doughReady for second riseReady to go in the ovenAfter 30 minutes covered Done!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

